Central Bank Promotes Yvette Fernando, Dhammika Nanayakkara as Deputy Governors

The Central Bank (CB) announced that Yvette Fernando, Dhammika Nanayakkara promoted as Deputy Governors to fill the positions vacated by Deputy Governors Dr. Nandalal Weerasinghe and H.A. Karunaratne upon their retirements in September.

“The Monetary Board, with the concurrence of the Minister of Finance, has promoted Assistant Governors, Mrs. T M J Y P Fernando and Mr. N W G R D Nanayakkara to the post of Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Sri Lanka (CBSL) with effect from 14th December 2020,” the CB said.

The most senior CB officials, Dr. Weerasinghe and Karunaratne left the CB in September this year, taking three-month prior to their retirements.

Fernando has over 30 years of service in the CB in the areas of supervision and regulation of banks, foreign exchange management and currency management. During this period, she has served as the Director of Bank Supervision and the Controller of Exchange and has played a key role in contributing to the financial system stability by providing leadership to implement a strong regulatory framework for banks in line with international standards and best practices.

Prior to the appointment as a Deputy Governor, she held the position of Assistant Governor and was in-charge of the departments of Bank Supervision, Currency, Foreign Exchange, and Employees’ Provident Fund.

Nanayakkara has over 27 years of experience in the CB, especially in the areas of Supervision and Regulation of Banks, Foreign Reserves Management and International Operations, Domestic Operations, Macroprudential Surveillance, and Public Debt Management.

Prior to the appointment as a Deputy Governor, he held the position of the Assistant Governor in-charge of Public Debt, Regional Development, Financial Consumer Relations, and Staff Services Management Departments of CB.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *